Geological Engineering Study Program-Faculty of Earth Science and Technology


About Study Program | History | Vision and MissionObjective and Outcome | Strategy

The history of the Geology Engineering Study Program at ITB is closely related with the geological educational development in Indonesia that has been started since the days of the Dutch occupation of Indonesia. It was Theodorus Henricus Franciscus Klompe, famous as Professor Klompe who first appointed as lecturer of geology at University Indonesia in 1948. Klompe first introduced the Department in 1950 as part of Faculty of Science, University of Indonesia in Bandung.  His Professor title was awarded in March 1951, at the Department of Geology, faculty of Mathematics and Natural Sciences at the university. Later, he became the head of this department.  It is then opened up a new era of the hystory of the science of geology in Indonesia.

The students under his guidance who could finish their studies by obtaining their degree that was “Drs” included S.Sigit, S.Sartono, J.A. Katili, Johannas, M.T. Zen and Koesmono.

In 1959, Institute Technology Bandung (ITB)was established. Mining and Geology Section was developed under the Department of Mineral Technology (DTM). It is then became the birth of The Department of Geology at ITB.

Within the years 1963 – 1984 occurred twice organizational changes at Bandung Institute of Technology. In 1973, the third part of the Department of Minerals Technologies merged with Section Mechanical, Electrical, Mechanical and Chemical engineering physics in a container the Faculty of Industrial Technology, and the title is replaced as part of the Department. Joining in the Faculty of Industrial Technology lasted until 1984, and in the reorganization again where the Department of Geology, Mines and Petroleum Engineering re-incorporated in the Faculty of Mineral Technology as the Department of Geology, Mining and Petroleum Engineering,

In accordance with P.P. No. 5 1950 on the Principles of Organization of University / Institute of State, P.P. No. 27 of 1981 on Monitoring of the Faculty At University / Institute of Internal Affairs, the Minister of Education and Culture No. 0135 / O / 1993 dated February 27, 1993 on the Organization and Work Procedure of Bandung Institute of Technology, and Ministry of Education and Culture No. 0211 / U / 1982 dated June 26, 1982 on Higher Education Program in the Ministry of Education and Culture, Department of Mining Engineering is under the Faculty of Mineral Technology together with the Department of Geology and Petroleum Engineering Department

At the end of 1998 Faculty of Mineral Technology (FTM) was changed to Faculty of Earth Sciences and Mineral Technology (FIKTM) in accordance with the Decree of the Minister of Education and Culture of the Republic of Indonesia No. 208-0 / 1998 dated August 25, 1998, on the amendment Nomenclature Mineral Technology Faculty at Bandung Institute of Technology became the Faculty of Earth Sciences and Mineral Technology. In the decree the Department of Geophysics and Meteorology, which is under the auspices of the Faculty of Mathematics and Natural Sciences (MIPA) joined Geophysical Engineering Program which is under the auspices of FIKTM

Since 1999, the Department has been part of the Faculty of Earth Science and Mineral Technology, ITB. For more than 40 years, the Department has been the largest Earth Science Department in Indonesia. It has been accredited with very good grade “A” since 1998.